Menu Phi Beta Kappa PBK Northern California Association Honor Society
PBK Key logo

don't miss our Upcoming Activities

Eight Scholars and Four Teachers Honored, May, 2020

In fulfillment of its mission to encourage scholarship and research, the Phi Beta Kappa Northern California Association is honoring the following outstanding Phi Beta Kappa graduate students with $7,500 scholarship awards to assist them in completing their educational objectives:

The Scholarship Awards for 2020 were Presented to:

Sarah Gaffney--UC Davis; ecology

Nathan Gamarra--UC San Francisco; biochemistry and biophysics--Hendess award

Dominick Lawton--UC Berkeley; Slavic languages and literature--Gilliland award

Matthew Libass--UC Berkeley; environmental science, policy, and management

Jacob Moe-Lange--Stanford; biology

Anna Nisi--UC Santa Cruz; environmental studies--Reed award

Mark-Phillip Pebworth--UC San Francisco; biomedical sciences--Hardardt award

Sabrina Shirazi--UC Santa Cruz; ecology and evolutionary biology--Norall award

2020 Award Winners

Scholarship Committee members: Jean James, Jeff Fenton, Lynne Fovinci, Judy Hardardt, Joanne Sandstrom (Chair)

From 1982 through 2020, the Association awarded 345 scholarships totaling $1,467,214 to outstanding Phi Beta Kappa graduate students

The Teaching Excellence Awards for 2020 were Presented to:

The Teaching Excellence Committee has selected the following persons to receive Teaching Excellence Awards:

R. Lanier Anderson - Stanford University, Philosophy
Barbara Barnes - UC Berkeley, Gender and Women's Studies
Steven Hinshaw - UC Berkeley, Department of Psychology
Scott Sagan - Stanford University, Political Science


2020 Teaching awardees composite


Teaching Excellence Committee members: Kimberly Aguilar, Neil McElroy, Frank Farris, Melissa Stevens, and Narcinda Lerner (Chair).

Due to the Corona Virus, we were not able to hold the Annual Luncheon to present the awards in person.