Menu Phi Beta Kappa PBK Northern California Association Honor Society
PBK Key logo

Don't miss our Upcoming Activities

The person signing up for an event MUST be a member of the Northern California Association (PBKNCA). You can join now at

Read this important information about our enrollment, refund and cancellation policies

Twelve Scholars and Five Teachers Honored
Sunday May 6, 2018 at the Free House, Berkeley

In fulfillment of its mission to encourage scholarship and research, the Phi Beta Kappa Northern California Association is honoring the following outstanding Phi Beta Kappa graduate students with $7,500 scholarship awards to assist them in completing their educational objectives:

The Scholarship awards for 2018 were presented to:

William Callison, UC Berkeley, Political Science
Yvanka de Soysa, UC San Francisco, Biomedicine (Reed Scholarship)
Jordan Eizenga, UC Santa Cruz, Bioinformatics
Lelia Glass, Stanford, Linguistics
Marie Paulina Hartono, UC Berkeley, History (Gilliland Award)
Adam Lichtenheld, UC Berkeley, Political Science - Not able to attend
Kevin Moch, UC Berkeley, Classics (Norall Scholarship) - Not able to attend
Jeremy Nowak, UC Berkeley, Chemistry (Hendess Scholarship) - Not able to attend
Lisbet Ramirez-Chavez, UC Santa Cruz, Literature
Kerry Shannon, UC Berkeley, History (Hardardt Award)
Shiran Victoria Shen, Stanford, Political Science/Civil & Environmental Engineering
Kathryn Wilsterman, UC Berkeley, Biology


William Callison, Yvanka de Soysa, Jordan Eizenga, Lelia Glass, Marie Paulina Hartono


Lisbet Ramirez-Chavez, Kerry Shannon, Shiran Victoria Shen, Kathryn Wilsterman

Scholarship Committee members: Joanne Sandstrom (Chair), Jeff Fenton, Lynne Fovinci, Julie Fuchs, Jean James

See the students and read about their accomplishments here

From 1982 through 2018, the Association awarded 325 scholarships totaling $1,227,214 to outstanding Phi Beta Kappa graduate students

The Teaching Excellence awards for 2018 were presented to:

The Teaching Excellence Committee has selected the following persons to receive Teaching Excellence Awards:

Ron E. Hassner, Department of Political Science, UC Berkeley (Hasenkamp Award)
Kinch Hoekstra, Department of Political Science, UC Berkeley
Naomi Janowitz, Department of Religious Studies, UC Davis
Martha Olney, Department of Economics, UC Berkeley
Jon D. Rossini, Department of Theatre and Dance, UC Davis


Ron E. Hassner, Kinch Hoekstra, Naomi Janowitz, Martha Olney, Jon D. Rossini

See the teachers and read about their accomplishments here

Teaching Excellence Committee members: Narcinda Lerner (Chair), Stacey Croll, Mary Hanel, Bryan Phan

The awards were presented on May 6, 2018 at the Free House, Berkeley, at our Annual Dinner. On that occasion we celebrated our primary mission: providing scholarships and teaching awards to deserving scholars and professors to recognize and enhance their educational and research activities.